What is the Standard Possession Order in Texas?
Updated: Sep 1, 2020
In Texas, the Standard Possession Order, or “SPO”, as outlined in Texas Family Code §153.252 is presumptively in the best interest of a child age 3 or older. The SPO should be used only as a starting point for negotiations and then customized to fit the needs of the parents and the child(ren) involved. Learning to navigate a possession schedule can be difficult, so we offer many resources to help parties understand their options long before reaching the negotiation table.
Generally, for parties who live less than 100 miles from each other, the SPO provides the non-primary conservator with periods of possession on the first, third, and fifth weekends of the month, in addition to weekly visitation on Thursdays during the regular school year. The non-primary conservator also gets 30 days over the summer that can be broken up into 2 separate periods of at least 7 days each to allow extended time with the child(ren). Finally, the SPO also outlines how the parties will alternate holidays with the child(ren).
At the non-primary conservator’s election, periods of possession can begin and end either at 6:00 PM or at the time the child is dismissed/returned to school. If the periods of possession begin and end with school, this is commonly referred to as an Expanded SPO. The Expanded SPO provides the non-primary conservator with additional overnight periods of possession, helping to equalize the time the child gets to spend with each parent.
Below, you will find links to the following:
1. 2020 Calendar of the 1st, 3rd, and 5th Weekends
2. Sample Standard Possession Order
3. Sample Expanded Standard Possession Order
To make sure your possession schedule fits the needs of your family, call (281) 768-4071 or email firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule a consultation today. The article is provided for informational purposes only. You should always consult with an attorney experienced in family law matters to obtain legal advice specific to your case.